Saturday, June 1, 2013

June is Dairy Month -- What is a Dairy Product?

So, just what is considered a dairy product?

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, "all fluid milk products and many foods made from milk are considered part of this food group."

The USDA goes on to say: "Most Dairy Group choices should be fat-free or low-fat. Foods made from milk that retain their calcium content are part of the group. Foods made from milk that have little to no calcium, such as cream cheese, cream, and butter, are not. Calcium-fortified soy milk (soy beverage) is also part of the Dairy Group."

The USDA lists all types of milk, including lactose-free milks, lactose-reduced milks, flavored milks and calcium-fortified soy milks. Also included are milk-based desserts such as pudding, ice milk, frozen yogurt and ice cream. All yogurts are included in the dairy group as are all hard, soft and processed American cheeses.

No comments:

Post a Comment