Wednesday, December 4, 2013

New York Farm Bureau Presents Awards

From the New York Farm Bureau:

New York Farm Bureau presented a number of awards at its Tuesday night awards banquet to those members and counties that have excelled in the Farm Bureau mission to “serve and strengthen agriculture.”

The dinner, sponsored by Farm Credit East and a part of the state annual meeting being held in Salina, announced awards for Young Farmers, Promotion and Education and Membership.

The Young Farmer program handed out three awards for their annual contests. Winners of these awards will represent New York at the American Farm Bureau Annual Meeting this January in San Antonio, Texas. 

The New York State Discussion Meet champion was Stuart Ziehm from Washington County, the Excellence of Agriculture award was presented to Jennifer Karelus from Lewis County and the 2013 New York State Achievement Award winner was Zachary DeBadts from Wayne County.

Membership is a crucial part of Farm Bureau and many individuals took an active role in the campaign to increase numbers. Many individuals worked tirelessly to recruit new members and almost 30 people were awarded for their efforts.

Those who signed up five or more new members received a Farm Bureau Carhartt jacket. Ashur Terwilliger of Chemung County was recognized for signing up 18 new members, the most of anyone in Farm Bureau. 

Lastly, the Farm Bureau awards the “Farm Bureau key” to counties that excel in overall program accomplishment. Four counties won the 2013 Gold Key Award. They are Schuyler, Chemung, Franklin and Long Island Farm Bureaus.

No comments:

Post a Comment