Monday, December 22, 2014

New Members Named to National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection

The following are new members of the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection  for the 2014-2016 term:

Dr. Michael Crupain, Consumer Product Safety and Sustainability; George Wilson, Wilson & Associates, LLC; Dr. Tanya Roberts, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention; Kurt Brandt, United Food and Commercial Workers International Union; Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, South Dakota Animal Industry Board; Dr. Krzysztof Mazurczak, Illinois Department of Agriculture; Michael Frances Link Jr., Ohio Department of Agriculture; Dr. Manpreet Singh, Purdue University; Dr. Randall K. Phebus, Kansas State University; Dr. Patricia Curtis, Auburn University; Brian Sapp, White Oak Pastures, Inc.; Sherri Jenkins, JBS, USA, LLC; Dr. Betsy Booren, American Meat Institute; Dr. Alice Johnson, Butterball, LLC.

Returning members are: Sherika Harvey, Mississippi Department of Agriculture; Dr. Carol L. Lorenzen, University of Missouri; Dr. Michael L. Rybolt, Hillshire Brands Company; Dr. John A. Marcy, University of Arkansas; and Christopher A. Waldrop, Consumer Federation of America.

Established in 1971, the 17-member advisory committee meets on food safety concerns and advises the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture on matters affecting federal and state inspection program activities. It also contributes to USDA's regulatory policy development.

The new members were announced by Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack.

No comments:

Post a Comment