Friday, January 27, 2017

Livestock Producers Have Until Jan. 30 to Apply for Forage Disaster Program

Monday is the deadline to apply for  the Livestock Forage Disaster Program.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency reminds livestock producers, in eligible counties, who suffered grazing losses that occurred throughout 2016 due to drought, to report their losses and to enroll in the program by Jan. 30.

The Livestock Forage Disaster program is available in the following New York counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Cortland, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Suffolk, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates.

The program provides compensation to eligible livestock producers who suffered grazing losses for covered livestock due to drought on privately-owned or cash-leased land or fire on federally-managed land. 

Producers in 25 New York counties are eligible to apply for 2016 benefits on native pasture, improved pasture and forage sorghum. Livestock producers are encouraged to contact the their local FSA Office with any questions regarding specific forage crops that are eligible.

Livestock producers must complete the Livestock Forage Disaster program application and required supporting documentation for losses that occurred throughout 2016. Producers who already have appointments scheduled require no additional action to meet the deadline.

Eligible livestock includes alpacas, beef cattle, buffalo, beefalo, dairy cattle, deer, elk, emus, equine, goats, llamas, poultry, reindeer, sheep or swine that have been or would have been grazing the eligible grazing land or pastureland.

Visit to learn more about FSA disaster assistance programs or contact your local FSA office. To find a local FSA office, visit or call (315) 477-6309.

No comments:

Post a Comment